Yungang Grottoes

IMG_8054

The Yungang Grottoes is located on the west side of the city of Datong which is north part of China. There are over 51,000 carvings and Buddha Statues on this site. Most of these outstanding stone carvings are from 5th and 6th century.  Being from Iran, I have seen lot of stone carving that are not necessarily religious but I have to say these carving have distinct character and artistic power. Most of these Buddha figures are covered with robe and details on clothing is just breathtaking.

Grottoes1

There is one large cave which is Yungang Grottoes then there are group of twin and triple caves. we were not allow to take the photo inside the main cave and I respect that so most of my  photos are from outside. The size of these Buddha and the details are fascinating. I tried to follow the story on the wall but at some point I felt lost. There is just so much detailed to observe and I needed more time. While I was sketching out side, I wonder, did any of these monk live enough to see a finish project?

I am a mountain
You call , I echo.   Rumi


Leave a comment